Chesterfield County Residents Eligible for FEMA Individual Assistance Program

Chesterfield County Residents Eligible for FEMA Individual Assistance Program
COLUMBIA, S.C. - At the request of Governor Henry McMaster, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has amended its disaster declaration for Hurricane Florence to make residents in Chesterfield County eligible to apply for the Individual Assistance program. Residents in Dillon, Horry, Marion, and Marlboro counties were previously made eligible to apply for aid through FEMA.

Survivors who sustained losses in the designated counties can apply for federal assistance by registering online at or by calling 800-621-3362. Assistance can include money for temporary rental assistance and essential home repairs for primary homes, low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help survivors recover from the effects of the disaster.

Disaster assistance applicants who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585. Those who use 711 or Video Relay Service may call 800-621-3362. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. seven days a week until further notice.

Along with the four previously approved counties, Chesterfield County residents are now also eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA). If your job has been affected by Hurricane Florence go to and click the MyBenefits Login in the top right corner to apply through the unemployment insurance (UI) benefits system. For help, call 1-866-831-1724. The deadline for applying for residents in Chesterfield County is October 25, 2018 – 30 calendar days from the date that DEW announced the availability of DUA in the county.

The DUA program makes funds available to assist people who became unemployed as a direct result of Hurricane Florence. It also is available to small business owners and the self-employed, including 1099 contract workers, who lost personal income due to the disaster.

Additionally, government agencies and certain eligible nonprofit organizations in Chesterfield, Darlington, Florence and Sumter counties are now eligible to apply for up to 75 percent reimbursement for emergency costs through FEMA's Public Assistance program. SCEMD, county emergency managers, and FEMA teams will continue to assess damage in other storm-impacted counties in order to qualify for additional federal assistance to help families and communities recover from the storm.